To: Daniel Brooks, President, SCTCCCA

From: Ginger Foley, Secretary-Treasurer, SCTCCCA

Date: August 1, 2008

Re: Minutes of the summer clinic business meeting

- 2:14 Danny Brooks (Dreher) opened the meeting with a call to order.
- 2:15 Pledge of Allegiance
- 2:16 Introduction of Vice Presidents
- 2:17 Coach Brooks (Dreher) announced the awards which were given at the Cross Country meeting: State Track & Field Records, and Bob Pollack special award.
- 2:18 Brooks urged coaches to send in Community Service project information to SCHSL; Leadership conference nominees: dates1/16 Mauldin, 2/6 W Florence, 2/20 woodland, 2/27 White Knoll.

From Officer's Meeting: (further information found in New Business)

- 2:19 John Jones (SV) reminded everyone regarding Betttis Herlong Scholarship monies awarded to coaches' children; this year SCTCCCA will donate \$2000.
- 2:22 Danny Brooks (Dreher) made an announcement regarding a new Official's Award (2009 CC track meet).
- 2:24 Brooks also announced that SCTCCCA would make a one time \$500 donation to scrunners.com, for it's role in promoting cross country and track & field in SC.
- 2:25 A motion was made by John Jones (SV) to accept minutes of the 2008 Winter Meeting and Budget Report. Ed Boehmke seconded. The minutes and budget report were accepted unanimously.
- 2:26 President Brooks announced the 2008 Track & Field Coaches of the Year Awards. Award presentations were assisted by VPs.
 - 1A G: Gwen Wilchen -Johnsonville
 - 1A B: Wayne Farmer Allendale Fairfax
 - 2A G: Tony Colizzi Bishop England
 - 2A B: Jackie Ryant Woodland
 - 3A G: George Moss JL Mann
 - 3A B: Steve Inabinet Blythewood
 - 4A G: Shay Rice Spartanburg
 - 4A B: Jeff Buys Dorman
- 2:30 Coaches were urged to update email information and give to Jeff Buys (Dorman).
- 2:31 John Jones (SV) announced that the 2008 Hall of Fame Awardee would be Coach Daniel Brooks (Dreher). He will be presented the award a 2008 Coaches Classic Cross Country Meet.
- 2:33 Coach Jones (SV) also made an appeal for members to turn in Hall of Fame nominees.
- 2:34 Bryan Squibbs (South Pointe) was announced as the Assistant COY. He will be presented with his award at 2009 Winter meeting.
- 2:35 Coach Brooks (Dreher) announced that All-State Certificates for track have been sent out. The goal for 2009 is to award these certificates at the state meet. A committee, organized in 2007 to establish standards for All-State recipients, needs to meet to determine criteria. The committee also requested input from the membership.
- 2:37 SCTCCCA made a unanimous proposal at winter meeting to add a week at the front of the track season. Coach Brooks said that no action was taken by SCHSL. A motion was made to resubmit proposal. A unanimous vote was recorded.

New Business:

- 2:38 Changes to constitution (all presented by John Jones SV):
- 1. New business submission time frame All new business to be presented at the semi-annual SCTCCCA Business Meetings should be presented to the Association President 30 days prior to the meeting. New business submitted 30 days in advance will pass will a simple majority vote of the members present. Any business presented after the 30 day mark or at the business meeting itself must have 75% of the vote to pass. The motion was seconded 2nd by Boehmke. It was passed with a unanimous vote.

- 2. Elections Elections will be held every even number year at the summer coaches' clinic during the SCTCCCA business meeting. The motion was seconded by Bob Jenkins. The vote was unanimous
- 3. Elections The President will be selected from one of the four outgoing vice presidents. If none of the Vice Presidents are willing to run then nominees may be taken from the Association at large. The motion was seconded by Bob Jenkins. A unanimous vote was recorded.
- 4. VP Elections-There will be four (4) vice presidents. One representing each classification: A, AA, AAA, AAAA. If no one from any one classification is willing to run then a member from another classification may be elected to fill that spot. The motion was seconded by Bob Jenkins. It was passed with a unanimous vote.
- 5. Finances Each year the Association will make a donation of \$2000 to the Bettis Herlong Scholarship Fund. The motion was seconded by Bob Jenkins. The vote was unanimous.
- 6. Awards Each year, at the Coaches Classic Track Meet, the SCTCCCA will present the Track & Field Officials Award (TFOA) to a maximum of 2 officials. These officials may not be an active track coach in South Carolina. Recipients will be selected by the SCTCCCA HOF Selection Committee when it meets at the summer clinic. The motion was seconded by Bob Jenkins. The motion passed with a unanimous vote.
- 2:48 J.J. lagulli (Carolina Forest) made a motion regarding the establishment of a SC Track & Field Officiating Body. Clarence Lewis (JL Mann) seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously. A committee will be formed to study implementation.
- 3:00 Bob Jenkins (South Pointe) proposed to amend the uniform rule to say that all athletes must wear boxer type (open leg) shorts over uniforms. The motion was seconded by John Jones (SV). Motion failed 29-20.
- 3:13 Rules Clarification Rick Crumpler (SV) interpreted the HSL's 75% rule to mean that league members cannot participate in indoor track. A question was raised about whether we could make a proposal to have just an indoor championship, not a team championship.
- 3:18 Rick Luden (West Ashley) –asked a question regarding post-season border "clashes." The association will request more information from the HSL.
- 3:24 Officer elections:

President Nominees: Daniel Brooks will continue for next two years VP Nominees:

Clarence Lewis (JL Mann) nominated George Moss (Mann – 3A)

Jim Settle (Goosecreek) – David Lee (James Island- 4A)

Bob Jenkins (South Pointe) nominated David Pratt (Hanahan – 2A)

Ed Boehmke (Eastside) nominated Eric Cummings (Riverside – 3A)

Danny Brooks nominated Rodney Adamee (Christ Church – 1A)

Freddie Young (Georgetown) nominated Glover Smiley (Spartaburg (4A)

Nominations from Officer's Meeting - Tony Colizzi (Bishop England – 2A)

- Jeff Buys (Dorman – 4A)

Motion made to close nominations: Nicholas Woodruff (Midland Valley); seconded by Ed Boehmke (Eastside)

The Newly elected Vice Presidents"

1A – Rodney Adamee (Christ Church)

2A – Tony Colizzi (Bishop England)

3A – Eric Cummings (Riverside)

4A – Glover Smiley (Spartanburg)

- 3:40 Ed Boehmke (Eastside) reviewed the 2008 Cross Country Calendar. All event directors should send race info to Ed @ eboehmke@greenville.k12.sc.us. Also, it was announced that the 2009 Coaches Classic Track & Field will be held on March 28 @ South Pointe.
- 3:42 Danny Brooks (Dreher) adjourned the meeting.