| FROM: | Jeff Buys, Secretary-Treasurer | , SCTCCCA |
|-------|--------------------------------|-----------|
|-------|--------------------------------|-----------|

DATE: 15 January 2005

RE: Minutes of the winter meeting

- 10:05 President John Jones (Spring Valley) opened the meeting.
- 10:06 Pledge of Allegiance
- 10:07 Bobby Urban (Dorman) made a motion to approve the minutes. Danny Brooks (Dreher) seconded the motion. The minutes were approved unanimously.
- 10:09 Jeff Buys (Ridge View) gave a budget report.
- 10:10 The association officers were introduced.
- 10:15 Kate Niehaus (Spring Valley) and Reid Wilson (Spring Valley) were awarded the outstanding male and female athletes from the cross country season.
- 10:17 The vice presidents handed out the Cross Country Coach of the Year awards:

| 4A Boys: | Calvin Hudgins, Northwestern |
|--------------|------------------------------|
| 4A Girls: | Bobby Urban, Dorman |
| 3A Boys: | Mike Foley, Blue Ridge |
| 3A Girls: | Paul Masse, Greer |
| 1A/2A Boys: | Jimmy Copeland, Gilbert |
| 1A/2A Girls: | Rodney Adamee, Christ Church |

- 10:22 President Jones awarded the assistant track coach of the year awards to Rick Crumpler (Spring Valley) and Brian Rutherford (Summerville).
- 10:24 Jim Kilbreth (Spartanburg) announced John Jones as the spring Hall of Fame Inductee.
- 10:25 Jeff Buys (Ridge View) gave a report on the Shrine Bowl Run.
- 10:30 Ed Boehmke (Eastside) gave a report about the cross country calendar and announced that in the future contact information will include the athletic directors contact information. Coach Boehmke also requested that all results be sent in word or text format, and not excel, so that they may be posted on the association website at: http://www.eastsideathletics.com/sctrackworld.
- 10:37 Kevin Shaw (Spring Valley) discussed online entry through direct athletics for the coaches classic track meet. Schools that do not know their password should contact direct athletics to have their passwords forwarded within 48 hours.
- 10:42 President Jones discussed the two day state meet schedule.
- 10:44 President Jones discussed the uniform rule concerning body suits. All athletes, male and female, must wear shorts over any body suit in sanctioned competitions in and out of state.
- 10:46 President Jones discussed the status of indoor track as a sport.
- 10:57 Ed Boehmke (Eastside) discussed the 2004 spring track calendar. Coaches may check the association website for a complete listing of events.
- 11:05 John Blackburn (NSSF) discussed the Nike Indoor Classic, Nike Outdoor Meet, and Great American meets. Information on all of the NSSF meets can be found at: <u>http://www.nationalscholastic.org/</u>

- 11:13 Jimmy Stephens (USATF) discussed meets and events associated with SCUSATF.
- 11:16 President Jones discussed officials for the Coaches Classic, 4A Qualifier, and State Meets.
- 11:20 Ed Boehmke (Eastside) and Jerome Singleton (SCHSL) discussed rule changes.
- 11:30 Classification meetings and Break.
- 12:20 Kevin Shaw (Spring Valley) proposed that membership dues be increased from \$5 to \$8. Calvin Hudgins (Northwestern) seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.
- 12:22 Kevin Shaw (Spring Valley) proposed that the height progression in pole vault and high jump when three or less competitors remain in the state meet, be changed to 6 inches and 2 inches respectively. Chuck Parker (TL Hanna) seconded the motion. The motion passed 38 14.
- 12:25 Steve Wilson (Summerville) proposed that the rules meeting be changed to a mandatory session. The motion was seconded by Bobby Urban (Dorman). The motion passed unanimously.
- 12:35 David Smith (Blue Ridge) proposed that the 4 x 200 relay be added to the state meet. Glover Smiley (Spartanburg) seconded the motion. The motion failed 28 31.
- 12:43 Rod Cowan (Westside) discussed the creation of a state top ten all-time performance list.
- 12:51 President Jones proposed that the association accept all constitution changes regarding finances and meetings. Jackie O'Rourke (West Ashley) seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.
- 12:56 President Jones proposed that the association purchase a display clock for use in the coaches classic and state meets. Calvin Hudgins (Northwestern) seconded the motion. The motion passed 31 12.
- 13:01 Bobby Urban (Dorman) proposed that the state cross country meet be moved back to Fort Jackson and if Hilton Field is not available that the state meet be held somewhere other than Clemson Extension. The motion was seconded by Delmer Howell (Mauldin). The motion passed unanimously.
- 13:10 President Jones discussed how to count wins and losses in cross country. President Jones will appoint a committee to look at guidelines for how best to accomplish this. Bob Jenkins (Northwestern) will head the committee and present a report at the summer clinic.
- 13:12 Jeff Buys (Ridge View) proposed that teams be able to enter a second scoring relay in the state meet series. The motion was seconded by Kevin Shaw (Spring Valley). The motion failed 7 54.
- 13:19 Richard Lunden (West Ashley) proposed that the 4A Qualifier be abolished and that the association return to an upper and lower state meet. Russ Busbee (South Aiken) seconded the motion. The motion failed 14 23.
- 13:37 Tom Cronin (Spring Valley) was named the 2004 Assistant Cross Country Coach of the Year.
- 13:39 Skeet Keyes (Thornwell) proposed that the starting height for pole vault in the 1A state meet be no lower than six feet or the lowest qualifying height from the upper or lower state meet. The motion was seconded by Andy Harris (Williston Elko). The motion passed unanimously.
- 13:43 Kevin Shaw (Spring Valley) proposed that the qualifying procedure for 4A cross country be changed to region champions, and then top 12 from a qualifying meet. The motion was seconded by Beau Lyons (Greenville). The motion failed 1 22.
- 13:58 President Jones proposed that the association move the track business meeting from Tuesday to Wednesday at the summer clinic, and move the cross country meeting from Wednesday to Tuesday. Calvin Hudgins (Northwestern) seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.
- 14:01 President Jones closed the meeting.