Shrine Bowl Run

This annual event is used to honor our top graduating runners as well as help the Shriner’s raise money for their hospitals for crippled and burned children. An application must be filed by the athlete and his/her coach. The selections will be made after the races.

The SCTCCCA would like to thank the Jamil Temple of the SC Shriners for the opportunity to honor our senior runners and for the chance to help in their fund raising efforts. The Shrine Bowl Run is held in memory of its founder and 20 year organizer, Mr. Everett Stoudenmire.

The Shrine Bowl Run in South Carolina was started in 1986 by Everett Stoudenmire, with the help of the South Carolina Track and Cross-Country Coaches Association. The Shriner’s hospital for Children has received more than 51 million dollars from Shrine Bowl Games across the United States. The first Carolina Shrine Bowl football game was played in Charlotte in 1937.

The Shrine Bowl Runners are escorted by the South Carolina Highway Patrol and are managed by the Shriners of the Jamil Temple.

Past Shrine Bowl Head Coaches

2020John JonesWaccamaw
2019Kevin WyattJames F Byrnes
2018Tyler LarkinsNinety-Six
2017Eddie SandersYork
2016David SmithGreer Middle College
2015Marie KernellSt. Josephs
2014Jeremy DarbyLandrum High School
2013Jim KoterbaSouth Pointe High School
2012Jerry KimbrellDorman High School
2011Eric CummingsRiverside High School
2010Rodney AdameeChrist Church
2009Tony ColizziBishop England High School
2008Scott BarefieldNation Ford High School
2007Calvin HudginsNorthwestern High School
2006Kevin ShawSpring Valley High School
2005Jeff BuysRidge View High School
2004Bobby UrbanDorman High School
2003Mark BedenbaughPelion High School
2002Rick ZellerWade Hampton High School
2001Mike MasseyUnion High School
2001Skip FryeBroome High School
2000Karen GillespieRiverside High School
1999Dan ShonkaLiberty High School
1998Al DunnSumter High School
1997Delmer HowellMauldin High School
1996Chuck ParkerTL Hanna High School
1995Ed BoehmkeEastside High School
1994Jack LeGrandChapin High School
1993Ron SullivanBelton Honea Path High School
1992Eileen KilbrethSpartanburg High School
1991Willie WoodenRiverside High School
1990Ted WhitakerHilton Head High School
1989Bob JenkinsNorthwestern High School
1988George JohnsonBrookland Cayce High School
1987Mike MooreIrmo High School
1986Jim KilbrethSpartanburg High School